*Click the account menu at the top right of any Facebook page
*Click Security in the left column
*Choose Deactivate your account then follow the steps to confirm
If you deactivate your account your profile won’t be visible to other people on Facebook and people won’t be able to search for you. Some information, such as messages you sent to friends, may still be visible to others.
If you delete your Facebook permanently, you won’t be able to reactivate or retrieve any of the data or information you had on Facebook. If you’d like to permanently delete your account with no option for recovery click here: How to Delete Facebook Permanently
Did it work? Were you able to deactivate your Facebook account? If not, tell us what the problem is – in the comment box below.