How to close Facebook account temporarily and permanently | Cancel My Account On Facebook : Let’s assume that you are now tired of Facebook and you are confused on the decision to take: Should you close it temporarily or permanently? Also see: Deactivate and Reactivate your Facebook Account
We will show you the difference between the two. Mind you, closing it temporarily means DEACTIVATION and closing it permanently means DELETION. So, let’s take a look at the differences between the two:
If you choose to deactivate your account:
You can reactivate whenever you want.
People can’t see your Timeline or search for you.
Some info may remain visible (example: messages you sent).
If you choose to delete your account:
You can’t regain access once it’s deleted.
Deletion may be delayed a few days after it’s requested. A deletion request is cancelled if you log back into your Facebook account during this time.
It may take up to 90 days to delete data stored in backup systems. Your info isn’t accessible on Facebook during this time.
Some things aren’t stored in your account. For example, a friend may have messages from you after deletion.
Copies of some material (example: log records) may remain in Facebook’s database but are disassociated from personal identifiers.
So, if you choose to close your Facebook account temporarily or Deactivate your account, here’s how to go about it:
On Your Facebook Application
Click on the menu button at the top right hand of your Facebook page.
On the pop up screen, scroll down to “Account settings”
On the pop-up screen, click on “General”
On the pop-up screen, tap on “Manage Account”
On the pop-up screen, tap on “Deactivate” at the right hand corner.
Enter your password on the screen that pops up and tap on “Continue”.
On the next page, you will be asked if you are sure of the decision to deactivate and to give reasons why you want to deactivate.
After you have provided the necessary information, scroll down to the bottom of the page and tap on “Deactivate” to deactivate your account.
You will once again be asked if you want to deactivate your Facebook account, tap on the “Deactivate” button to deactivate your Facebook account.